incomenanax.blogg.se

2012 macbook pro memory upgrade do they have to be matched
2012 macbook pro memory upgrade do they have to be matched












2012 macbook pro memory upgrade do they have to be matched
  1. 2012 MACBOOK PRO MEMORY UPGRADE DO THEY HAVE TO BE MATCHED FREE
  2. 2012 MACBOOK PRO MEMORY UPGRADE DO THEY HAVE TO BE MATCHED MAC

Not investing in a really expensive computer now means I'm more willing to try the new stuff later. But Thunderbolt never really took off, and what's up with the future of Magsafe? I'm on board for our reversible-cables-and-wireless-network future, but right now, I'd rather just use the adapters I own. Understanding what's inside my computer is empowering, and oddly enough, now I feel even more prepared for the future. After all, we pirates don't get paid when our ship is stuck in space dock. Maybe I could learn to work in coffee shops or on a couch, but this system helps me focus and keeps my wrists in decent condition. And I keep my monitors in circulation for a long time, so the difference in pixel densities would be more of a distraction than anything else.Īm I clinging to a hokey religion that's no match for a good blaster at my side? I dunno.

2012 MACBOOK PRO MEMORY UPGRADE DO THEY HAVE TO BE MATCHED MAC

(Yep, I use the number pad!) I treat my laptops like Mac Minis that can move between a few different desks depending what I'm working on. It also supports the P3 wide color gamut, which features 25 more colors than the commonly used sRGB gamut, for even more vibrant greens and reds. The Retina Display features a 2560 x 1600 resolution and 227 pixels per inch. Most of my work is done at a desk with a big monitor, full-size keyboard and an ambidextrous ergonomic mouse / Magic Trackpad combo. The MacBook Pro features a 13.3' Retina Display with 500 nits of brightness.

2012 macbook pro memory upgrade do they have to be matched

High-density displays are extremely useful on a phone and certainly the future of computing, but they aren't mission-critical for me. You're probably thinking, "don't you miss all those gorgeous Retina pixels?" Honestly, no. But were I to go with a machine from Apple's Retina laptop line, I'd have to pony up more than $2000! Instead, I yanked 16 gigs out of an old Mini and this baby was ready to rock - no premium charge necessary. I put my computer through a lot of RAM-intensive work during the day, and like to have as much available as possible. Bonus: Now I have a spare 2.5-inch hard drive for backups, and I'm booting off a drive I can remove myself in an emergency.Īnother bonus: I can add extra RAM to this MacBook Pro. I picked up a cheap SSD off Amazon, and replaced the drive myself.

2012 MACBOOK PRO MEMORY UPGRADE DO THEY HAVE TO BE MATCHED FREE

They come with 2x2GB so the macs have 10 GB of RAM and there is no measurable speed difference between a matched 8 GB and a non-matched 10GB and since the initial 2 GB stick is free I would never go with a pair of 4 GB sticks in that computer.Īs a rule of thumb - adding more total but unmatched memory is always faster than adding less total matched memory on aluminum case Apple products released between 20.But for what I need, this little MacBook Pro is more than enough: For one, it's repairable. I run Mac Mini servers hard with constrained RAM and just buy a pair of 8 GB sticks for each pair of Macs. Games might even be unplayable vs playable in some cases.įor anything Mac that is Unibody (not with a removable battery / frame is solid Aluminum) - just buy the most RAM you can afford from a vendor that will accept a return within a week if you mess up picking the right CAS latency and it doesn't work when you insert it. (Also, I'm not saying no one waits on RAM, but that the matched vs unmatched situation doesn't cause people to wait)įor MacBook that are now vintage (especially the plastic MacBook with the removable batteries in black and white case) - the VRAM was part of the RAM and having matching chips was actually noticeable when you didn't get it right. In the real world, you get a max of two RAM slots on the MacBook line and most people don't a) wait on their RAM for any significant amount of time ever b) don't throw away good RAM just because it doesn't match another chip they might put inside. In a testing lab with unlimited funds, matching RAM (matching CAS, the controllers and the size perfectly) can benchmark faster than non-matched RAM of equal total size.














2012 macbook pro memory upgrade do they have to be matched